Virat Kohli: India batsman misses rest of England Test series

image source, Getty Images

image description,

Kohli has played 113 Tests for India, scoring nearly 9,000 runs

Indian batsman Virat Kohli will miss the rest of the Test series against England due to personal reasons.

The 35-year-old former captain had previously withdrawn from the first two Tests.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) said on Saturday that Kohli will also be absent from the remaining three Tests.

“Virat Kohli will not be available for selection for the remainder of the series due to personal reasons,” the BCCI said in a statement.

“The board fully respects and supports Mr. Kohli’s decision.”

When he missed the first two tests, the board had said that “certain personal situations require his presence and undivided attention”.

Kohli, who played 113 Tests for India, is fourth on their list of all-time leading run-scorers with 8,848.

With three games to go, the series is 1-1, starting with the third Test in Rajkot on Thursday, February 15.

Kohli, who led the team in 68 Tests between 2014 and 2022, had not missed a Test for India in more than two years, most recently when he was ruled out for a match against South Africa in Johannesburg in January 2022 due to a back spasm.

India won the second Test by 106 runs in Visakhapatnam on Monday to level the series.

Batter Shreyas Iyer, who played in the first two Tests, was also not included in the 17-man squad named for the remainder of the series.

Spinner Ravindra Jadeja and batsman KL Rahul, who both played in the first Test, have returned to the squad but will only play “subject to fitness clearance from the BCCI medical team”, the board added.

There is also a call-up for sailor Akash Deep.

India's squad for the remaining Tests: Rohit Sharma (captain), Jasprit Bumrah, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, KL Rahul (week), Rajat Patidar, Sarfaraz Khan, Dhruv Jurel (week), KS Bharat (week), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar , Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Akash Deep.