The four stages of the development of Hinduism in India side all Hinduism is the oldest religion in the world that is still developing today.

Although Hindu teachings and thoughts have been different since 5000 BC. They are still relevant today.

Hinduism originated in the valley of the Shindu River in southwest India, today’s Punjab region.

The Hindu name itself is derived from the name of the Shindu River. This is related to the Persians who came into contact with the valley of the Hindu River.

The Persians called the word Shindu the word Hindu because they couldn’t pronounce the letter S.

Read also: Theory of Hindu Buddhist Entry into the Archipelago

Phases of Hindu Development in India

Hinduism is a universal teaching that gives freedom to its followers.

Get information, inspiration and insight from E-mail She.
to register E-mail

Over time, Hinduism in India has developed fairly quickly.

The development of Hinduism is divided into four phases. Here are the four stages in the development of Hinduism in India.

The Vedic Age

It was at this time that the teachings of the Vedas (revelation) were revealed to Maha Sri by Ida Sang Hyang Widhi. The time of the decline of the Vedas is very long.

The word “Veda” comes from the Sanskrit root “Vid”, which means to know. Overall, then, the Vedas have the meaning of the sacred knowledge of Sang Hyang Widhi Wasa.

This era began with the arrival of the Aryans from Austria, Hungary and Babylonia to India, right in the valley of the Shindu River.

Read also: Caste Division in Hindu Society

However, before they arrived in India, precisely on the Bosphorus, they separated. The Aryans who brought the Vedic culture with them continued their journey to India.

While the other group was traveling to Iran and bringing the culture of Awesta with them. Before the separation in the Bosporus, it is known that the Aryans lived together.

This is evidenced by the similarity of a number of words in the Veda and the Awesta. For example, the Vedas have the word Soma, while the Awesta has the word Houma.

In addition, there are Shindu words in the Vedic book and Hindu words in the Awesti book.

The Brahmin period

After the Vedic period, the Brahmin scriptures of Hinduism appeared in India. The book, also known as Karma Kanda, is in prose form and is part of the Veda which contains rules and obligations in religion.

For this reason, the role of the Brahmins (scholars of Hinduism) is becoming more and more important and society also depends on them.

Read also: The Form of Acculturation of Local Culture with Hindu Buddhists

In the Brahmin period, religious life was emphasized on the making of sacred sacrifices, or yadnya.

When it is carried out, the Yadnya ceremony is always accompanied by the chess priest (Sruti) chanting Vedic mantras.

In the Brahmin period there was also a division of social classes in Hinduism according to their occupation. Society is divided into four groups called chess suits or castes.

The four groups are as follows.

  • The Brahmins, made up of saints, religious leaders and clergymen
  • The knights are made up of people who sit in the seat of government, such as kings, ministers, nobles, and other officials.
  • The Wesya or Vaisya group is made up of people who are skilled in trading.
  • The Sudras were made up of subordinates such as beggars and laborers.

This classification basically only serves to maintain the purity of the Aryan race so that it is not mixed with other races.

Read also: List of Hindu Buddhist Relics

Zaman Upanisad

The Upanisad period lasted from 800 BC. Where the development of Hinduism originated in the teachings of the Upanisad books.

The Upanishads mean sitting near the teacher to hear sacred spiritual teachings. Basically, the Upanishads teach to overcome the darkness in the soul in order to gain awareness and happiness.

The teachings of philosophy in Hinduism began from this time. The most popular teaching of this era is the teaching that all different things come from one source called Brahman.

At that time the settlements in the Gangestal were inhabited by residents, most of whom worked as traders.

Because of the economic thinking at the time, the residents of the Ganges Valley did not want an excessive religious life.

Read also: List of Hindu-Buddhist Kingdoms in Indonesia

Buddhist age

This era lasted from 500 BC. BC to 300 BC When Siddhartha interpreted the Vedas logically.

Sidharta also developed a system of yoga (one of the six teachings of Hindu philosophy) and samadhi (part of religious ritual practices) as a way of drawing closer to God.

Sidharta was the son of King Sudhodana, who led the Shakya community in southern Nepal.


  • AD El Marzdedeq. 2005. The role of Buddhism in the classical world and its spread through India. Jakarta: Syaamil Cipta Media

Get updates News of choice and breaking news every day from Let’s join Telegram group “ News Update” how to click on the link, then join. You need to install the Telegram application on your mobile phone first.