Rajya Sabha Election: 57 Rajya Sabha seats in total, 16 contested, counting delayed: 10 points

Surveys by Rajya Sabha: The maximum number of seats, 11, is in Uttar Pradesh.

New Delhi:
The count of 16 Rajya Sabha seats has been delayed after a closely watched all-day contest in four states marked by cross-voting. Candidates were unanimously elected to 41 seats. The election is crucial ahead of next month’s presidential election.

Here are the top 10 updates to this great story:

  1. The toughest fights take place in Maharashtra, Karnataka, Rajasthan and Haryana. The count has yet to begin as the BJP and Congress in Haryana and Karnataka conduct a series of deputations to the Electoral Commission over alleged cross-voting.

  2. In Karnataka, at least one Janata Dal (secular) MLA K Srinivasa Gowda said he voted for Congress “because he loved it”. There was also uncertainty about another vote. JDS chief HD Kumaraswamy claimed “horse trade” and said “30 out of 32 stood with us”.

  3. In Rajasthan, cross votes and defectors have given the ruling Congress an advantage. The party is said to have received two votes from the BJP. Sources said the BJP MLA from Dholpur was caught cross-voting and their vote was withheld by the election observer.

  4. In Maharashtra – where the sixth seat is being fought hard – 28 MLAs from smaller parties and independents hold the key. The ruling coalition is in a difficult position as the bail requests of two MLAs, Nawab Malik and Anil Deshmukh, have been denied.

  5. The opposition Congress is playing defense in Haryana, where a vote from its MLA was reportedly invalidated, while independent MLAs voted for the ruling BJP.

  6. In one of Haryana’s two seats, the BJP has nominated former minister Krishan Lal Panwar, and former Union minister Ajay Maken is the congressional candidate. Media baron Kartikeya Sharma is running as an independent. Kartikeya Sharma has complained to the Electoral Commission, demanding that the votes of two candidates be invalidated.

  7. Krishan Panwar, backed by the BJP’s surplus MLAs and their allies Jannayak Janata Party and the Independents, needs just 4 more votes to win. Congress has 31 MLAs against the need for 30 votes. Therefore, any cross vote will be a challenge for Mr. Maken.

  8. The elections were conducted to fill 57 vacancies in 15 states. Of these, the BJP held 23 seats and eight were held by Congress. The rest was split between the other parties.

  9. The maximum seats, 11, are in Uttar Pradesh. Maharashtra and Tamil Nadu follow with six seats each. Five seats from Bihar, four each from Karnataka, Rajasthan and Andhra Pradesh, three each from Madhya Pradesh and Odisha were also vacant.

  10. Also vacant are two seats each from Punjab, Jharkhand, Haryana, Chhattisgarh and Telangana and one seat from Uttarakhand.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.