India joins the difficult group in the 2021 Sudirman Cup –

Badminton News: India is drawn with top seeds and defending champions China, Thailand and hosts Finland for the upcoming prestigious Sudirman Cup tournament, making Group A difficult to negotiate.

The prestigious World Mixed Team Championships will take place from September 26th to October 3rd, 2021 in Vantaa, Finland.

India and Finland were placed 9th to 16th, while Thailand is placed 5-8th out of 16 countries. The Chinese team, which have won the title 11 times in the past, will have a chance to consolidate their position as they move towards their 12th title.

The draw, held in Kuala Lumpur and streamed online, saw Japan runner-up alongside Malaysia, England and Egypt in Group D. Japan finished runner-up in 2019 and is aiming for its first Sudirman Cup title.

Indonesia, winner of the Sudirman Cup when it was founded in 1989, plays in Group C with Denmark, the Russian Olympic Committee (ROC) and Canada, while in Group B Chinese Taipei, Korea, Tahiti and Germany play.

Four-time winner Korea is the second most successful team in the World Mixed Team Championships.

The two best teams in each group reach the knockout round (quarter-finals). The draw for the quarter-finals will take place immediately after the last group matches.

Each game consists of five games, namely men’s singles, women’s singles, men’s doubles, women’s doubles and mixed doubles.

The Badminton Association of India selected teams for the Sudirman Cup as well as the Thomas and Uber Cups in a selection process on August 28th.

A total of 105 players, including Lakshya Sen, HS Prannoy, the Verma brothers Sameer and Sourabh, Parupalli Kashyap, Ashwini Ponnappa, N Sikki Reddy, Ashmita Chaliha, Malvika Bansod, Aakarshi Kashyap and Gayatri Gopichand were called up for the competition.

Two-time Olympic champion PV Sindhu, London 2012 Olympic third Saina Newhal, Tokyo Olympics B Sai Praneeth, Rio 2016 Olympic quarterback Kidambi Srikanth as well as the number 10 of the men’s doubles pairs Chirag Shetty and Satwiksairaj Rankireddy were selected directly for two championships.

Article tags: India, Sudirman Cup 2021, PV Sindhu

Published by at