Droupadi Murmu leads after round 1 in the presidential election Total of votes: 10 points

Presidential election: 44 parties declared their support for Droupadi Murmu, the former governor of Jharkhand.

New Delhi:
The count for the presidential election is seen as a mere formality as Droupadi Murmu – backed by the ruling NDA and several other parties – is set to far outstrip the opposition’s Yashwant Sinha. She will be India’s first female tribal president.

Here are the top 10 updates to this story:

  1. The NDA’s Droupadi Murmu got a clear lead as MPs’ votes were counted first. Out of the 748 valid votes, she received 540, while Yashwant Sinha’s was at 204. Using a formula based on population and assembly seats, MPs’ votes are worth 5.2 lakh (about half the electoral college) – Ms Murmu got 3.8 lakh; Mr. Sinha, 1.4 lakhs. So India will probably get its first tribal president and only the second woman.

  2. The residents of Rairangpur in Odisha, Ms. Murmu’s hometown, are already celebrating. You have prepared 20,000 candies. A tribal dance and a triumphal procession are part of the plan once the results are known.

  3. The count began at around 1:30 p.m. in the Parliament building. Results are expected around 4 p.m. The process began at 11 a.m., when all states’ ballot boxes were opened before the count began.

  4. Prime Minister Narendra Modi is expected to visit Droupadi Murmu at her temporary accommodation in Teen Murti Marg to congratulate her after the results were announced, sources said.

  5. Delhi BJP has planned a roadshow from party headquarters to Rajpath following Ms Murmu’s victory. Many senior executives will be in attendance, sources said. All state units of the BJP have also planned triumphant marches.

  6. The NDA’s election of Ms Murmu – an Odisha tribal woman and former governor of Jharkhand – was a move to split the opposition and garner support from non-aligned parties such as Naveen Patnaik’s Biju Janata Dal and Jaganmohan Reddy’s YSR Congress.

  7. In all, 34 parties declared their support for the opposition candidate, former Union Minister Yashwant Sinha, and 44 backed Droupadi Murmu. Several lawmakers admitted to voting in Ms Murmu’s favour. Votes against party lines are not penalized in these elections.

  8. The count is preceded by a sorting that separates votes from MPs and MLAs. The value of votes is determined by population and assembly seats.

  9. The winner of the presidential election is not the candidate with the most votes, but the one who receives more votes than a certain quota. This quota is determined by adding the votes requested for each candidate, dividing the total by two and adding “1”. The candidate who receives more votes than this value is the winner. Basically you count more than 50 percent. If someone does not tick these at first, preferences noted on the ballot later come into play.

  10. The President-elect will take the oath of office on July 25, one day after Ramnath Kovind’s term expires.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.